These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney.

## **General Information**

- The action must be filed by a "person in interest", i.e. the property owner or other individual or entity identified as the landlord or lessor on the lease. If you are the property manager or the individual or entity acting as an agent for the owner(s), you may be required to show proof of your authority.
- The action must be filed in the County where the property is located.
- You must have served the tenant a Demand for Compliance for Nonpayment of Rent (JDF143) or a Notice to Quit (JDF 142) along with Important Notice To The Home Owner (JDF 146) and the time for the tenant to comply has passed. Time for the tenant to comply varies based upon the reason for eviction, please review Colorado Revised Statute § 38-12-201. If the last day of any period is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the period is extended to include the next day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
- The judgment amount is limited to \$25,000.00 (if personally served) in County Court and must be filed in the county in which the property is located.
- If you are the Defendant **do not disregard** the Complaint. If you do, a judgment could be entered against you.
- If you are the Plaintiff do not disregard a response or counterclaim. If you do, a judgment could be entered against you.
- For additional information, please review Colorado Revised Statute §38-12-201 et seq.
- If you have a disability and need a reasonable accommodation to access the courts, please contact your local ADA Coordinator. Contact information can be obtained from the following website: <u>http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator\_List.cfm</u>

$\boxtimes$	Complaint:	Document officially commencing the eviction process against a person who fails to comply with the lease agreement or pay rent when due.
$\boxtimes$	Plaintiff:	The person(s) or company filing a Complaint.
$\boxtimes$	Defendant:	The person(s) or company that the case is filed against.
$\boxtimes$	Service of Process:	The official means by which the Defendant is notified that a lawsuit has been filed against him/her and provided a copy of the Complaint and a description of their rights and obligations as a party to the case.
$\boxtimes$	Default:	If the Defendant does not appear at the time of the hearing or file an answer, the Court may enter "default" or "failure to appear/answer" which entitles the Plaintiff to all relief asked for in the complaint.
$\boxtimes$	Return Date:	The date that the Defendant must file his/her answer by and/or appear in Court, which is listed on the Summons.
$\boxtimes$	Writ of Restitution:	A legal order signed by the Court authorizing the Sheriff to evict the Defendant. It is signed to be effective 48 hours after the judge grants a judgment of possession unless other terms are ordered.

# Common Terms

If you do not understand this information, please contact an attorney

## Fees

The filing fee is \$85, if your claim is for possession only and or your money claim is for less than \$1000. If your claim is in excess of \$1000 please refer to the chart on page 2 of these instructions. If you are unable to pay, you must complete the Motion to File without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit (JDF 205) and submit it to the Court. Once you submit the completed JDF 205 form and a blank Order (JDF 206), the Court will decide if you need to pay the filing fee.

Other fees that a party to the case may encounter are as follows:

Claim Amount (Plaintiff, Petitioner) Less than \$1,000 \$1,000 up to \$15,000 \$15,000 up to \$25,000	Filing Fee \$85 \$105 \$135			
Third Party Plaintiff Intervenor, Party filing answer				
With cross claim or counter claim				
Less than \$1,000	\$84			
\$1,000 up to \$15,000	\$104			
\$15,000 up to \$25,000	\$134			
Defendant, Respondent, Third Party Defendant Other party NOT filing cross claim or counterclaim Less than \$1,000 \$1,000 up to \$15,000 \$15,000 up to \$25,000	\$80 \$100 \$130			
<ul> <li>Jury Demand Fee</li> <li>Copies of Documents (Documents on file)</li> <li>Copies of Documents (Documents not on file)</li> <li>Service Fees</li> </ul>	\$98.00 \$.75 per page or \$1.50 if double-sided \$.25 per page or \$.50 if double-sided Varies (Not payable through or to the Court.)			

# Forms

To access a form online go to <u>www.courts.state.co.us</u> and click on the "Forms" tab. The packet/forms are available in PDF or WORD by selecting "County Civil – Eviction (FED)". You may complete a form online and print or you may print it and type or print legibly in black ink. Read these instructions carefully to determine what forms you may need.

<ul> <li>CRCCP Form 1A</li> <li>CRCCP Form 3</li> <li>JDF 142</li> <li>JDF 98</li> <li>JDF 147</li> <li>JDF 143</li> </ul>	Summons in Forcible Entry and Unlawful Detainer Answer Under Simplified Civil Procedure Notice To Quit Affidavit of Service Complaint Demand for Compliance
<ul> <li>JDF 102</li> <li>JDF144</li> <li>JDF 145</li> <li>JDF 106</li> <li>JDF 107</li> <li>JDF 146</li> </ul>	Stipulation for Forcible Entry & Detainer (FED)/Eviction Writ of Restitution (Mobile Home) Motion for Default Judgment Order re: Stipulation Order for Entry of Judgment Notice to Home Owner

# **Steps To Filing Your Case**

**Step 1:** You have already completed and posted a Demand for Compliance (JDF143) **or** a Notice to Quit (JDF 142) along with Important Notice To The Home Owner( JDF 146) and the time for the tenant to comply has passed. **If this has not been completed do not proceed to Step 2.** 

#### Step 2: Complete Initial Forms.

Keep a copy of each form for your own records and make a copy to provide to the other party.

#### Complaint (JDF 147).

- □ You are the Plaintiff and the person(s) you are evicting is/are the Defendant(s).
- Fill in all the blanks and complete all necessary information on the Complaint form.
- □ If you are filing against multiple Defendants in the same action, list all of the Defendants.
- A Make sure you have the appropriate number of copies of all documents for the Court and the Defendant(s).
- □ File with the Court a copy of the lease or rental agreement (if a written lease or rental agreement was made). Please mark as Attachment "1" if available. The lease or rental agreement **must be served** to the Defendant(s) with the Complaint.
- □ File with the Court a copy of the Demand for Compliance (JDF143) **or** the Notice to Quit (JDF 142) along with Important Notice To The Home Owner( JDF 146). Please mark as Attachment "2". A copy of this notice, which has already been served to the Defendant(s), must be attached to the Complaint.

# Summons in Forcible Entry and Unlawful Detainer (CRCCP Form 1A) and Answer under Simplified Civil Procedure (CRCCP Form 3).

- Complete the upper portion (caption only) on the Summons and Answer.
- □ The Court will provide you with a case number, division, and courtroom when you file your case. When you receive this information enter it on both forms. In addition, enter the case number on the upper portion of the return of service, so that the Court can match this document to the appropriate case when filed back with the Court.
- □ The Clerk will complete the appropriate fields on the Summons (CRCCP 1A) with Court location, date, and time.
- □ You must provide additional copies to serve the Defendant(s).

#### Step 3: You are ready to file your case with the Court.

- Provide the Court with the completed forms and exhibit as described in Steps 1 2 above.
- Pay the filing fee

:

## Step 4: When the case is filed, the Clerk will set your case for a Court date.

This Court date is the date you will return to Court for a trial setting, agreement, or judgment may be entered.

- □ The Clerk will complete the appropriate fields on the Summons (CRCCP 1A) with the Court location, date, and time.
- The Court date will be set between seven to fourteen days from the date of issuance.
- □ You must provide the necessary forms and attach the appropriate exhibits to serve the Defendant(s).

#### Step 5: You are ready to have the Defendant(s) served.

You are responsible for paying the service fees, if any. Personal service or service by posting and mail must be **at least 7 days** (prior to the Court date. §13-40-112 C.R.S. Complete the following process based on the type of service selected

If the person doing your service cannot serve the Defendant(s) personally, the papers should be posted on the door to the main entrance of the dwelling or other conspicuous place upon the premises. The Court will only award you possession and not money damages if you post and mail the Summons. A monetary award may be granted only if there has been personal service of process on the Defendant(s) and/or the Plaintiff(s).

#### Personal Service:

Select either the Sheriff's Department, a private process server, or someone you know who is 18 years or older and not a party to the action and who knows the rules of service to serve the Defendant. There is a service fee that is payable to the Sheriff's Department or Private Process Server. The fee for service is usually awarded as part of your court costs if the court rules in your favor.

- □ You can locate private process servers in the yellow pages or on the internet under Process Servers.
- Provide the process server with the Affidavit of Service (JDF 98) for each Defendant and two sets of the Summons, Complaint, and Answer forms. In addition, attach all appropriate exhibits as described in Step 2.
- The process server will return the original Summons to you with the Affidavit of Service completed.
- Each Defendant must be served at least five business days before the day for appearance specified in the Summons.

#### Service by Posting and Mailing:

- If personal service cannot be made upon the Defendant(s), the person completing service, i.e. process server or Sheriff's Department, must post the papers on the door to the main entrance or other conspicuous place upon the premises.
- No later than the next day following the day you file the Complaint with the Court, you must mail a copy of the Summons, Complaint, and Answer to the Defendant(s) by postage prepaid, first class mail. (In addition, attach the appropriate exhibits.)
- After you have placed the forms in the mail, complete the certificate of mailing. The certificate of mailing is included on the Summons (CRCCP Form 1A). The purpose of completing the certificate of mailing is to provide proof that you did mail the Summons, Complaint and Answer to the Defendant(s) by postage prepaid, first class mail.

#### Step 6: Service is complete.

Return the original Summons with proof of service (Affidavit of Service or Certificate of Mailing) to the Clerk on or before the date you are to appear in Court.

## **Defendant Files a Counterclaim**

A Defendant can file a counterclaim and pay \$96.00 to the Court and also request a jury trial, if the jury demand fee of \$98.00 is paid. The clerk may set a hearing between 7 to 14 days from the date that the clerk (or attorney for Plaintiff) completes the Summons. Defendant(s) may be required to post a bond, if the jury trial cannot be set within seven days. Upon the filing of the counterclaim, the first hearing date may be vacated and a new hearing date set. Both parties must appear on the new date.

## Court Date

It is important that you are on time or early for your Court Hearing and that you have all of your information with you. Please turn off your cell phone and respect all parties in the courtroom. You may be asked to speak to the other party before the Court Hearing to determine if the claim can be settled to avoid going to trial.

## **Possible Outcomes from Your Court Hearing**

## □ If the Plaintiff(s) and Defendant(s) appear one of the following situations can occur:

- 1. The Defendant(s) can agree to vacate the premises within 48 hours. An agreement can be made to the amount of money owed and a payment plan can be put in place.
- 2. The Plaintiff(s) and the Defendant(s) can agree to work out certain conditions that would enable the Defendant(s) to remain in the property. This is called a Stipulation. A Stipulation form (JDF 102) may be purchased from the clerk's office or you may bring one with you to Court. The Plaintiff(s) does not have to agree to the filing of the Stipulation if they want the Defendant(s) off the property.
  - The Stipulation (JDF 102) must be signed in the presence of a court clerk or notary public.
  - □ If a stipulation is reached, an Order re: Stipulation (JDF 106) must be filed with the Court with the Stipulation. Complete the caption only on the form. The Court will complete the remaining sections on the form and give you a signed copy.
- 3. The Defendant(s) may file an answer contesting the claim of the Plaintiff(s). The purpose of the answer is for the Defendant(s) to respond to the allegations in the Complaint and to state why the claim is not true. If the Defendant(s) file(s) an answer in accordance with Colorado Rules of County Court Procedure Rule 312, completes form CRCCP Form 3, and pays the required non-refundable answer fee of \$92.00 the clerk will set a hearing date between 7 and 14 days.
- **4.** The Plaintiff(s) can continue the return date, if the Plaintiff(s) feel that further discussion with the Defendant(s) is/are required or, if the Defendant(s) is/are given another opportunity to fulfill a pre-arranged agreement.

# □ If the Plaintiff(s) appear and the Defendant(s) do not appear and if Steps 1 - 6 have been completed properly.

□ The Court may award possession and/or, if personal service was obtained, monetary judgment to the Plaintiff(s).

#### □ If the Defendant(s) appear and the Plaintiff(s) do not appear.

- **1.** If a counterclaim has been filed and personally served to the Plaintiff(s), the Court may award a monetary judgment to the Defendant(s).
- 2. If no counterclaim has been filed, the Court may dismiss the case.

## **Judgment Information**

The Court cannot collect your monetary judgment for you, but can give you information regarding the necessary collection forms. Complete the appropriate forms based on the judgment awarded.

#### **D** Possession Judgment:

- Complete the Motion for Default Judgment (JDF 145).
- Complete the caption and include the property address (2<sup>nd</sup> check box) on the Order for Entry of Judgment (JDF 107).
- □ The Court will review the Motion and upon approval will complete the Order (JDF 107) and give you a signed copy.
  - □ If the Defendant(s) have not vacated the property within thirty days from the date of judgment, complete the caption only on the Writ of Restitution (JDF 144) and provide to the Court for approval.
  - Once the Writ is issued, it is the obligation of the Plaintiff(s) to contact the Sheriff's Office for the execution of the Writ.

#### □ Monetary Judgment:

- □ If you obtained personal service on the Defendant(s) or Plaintiff(s), Motion for Default Judgment (JDF 145) you may include the principal amount you are requesting plus charges and damages up to one month's rent, if so stated in your lease. The Motion also asks for court costs and the process fee for service of the Summons. Interest and attorney fees are not normally awarded on evictions filed without an attorney.
- Complete the caption only on the Order for Entry of Judgment with Issuance of Interrogatories (JDF 107). The Court will complete the remaining sections of the form.

Additional collection information entitled "Instructions for Collecting a Judgment and Completing a Writ of Garnishment" (JDF 82) is available on the state judicial website, <u>www.courts.state.co.us</u>. Select the "Forms" tab, then select County Civil or District Civil, and then select Garnishments.